François Cornelis appointed new Chairman of the Board of Directors of bpost

The members of the newly composed Board of Directors of bpost appointed François Cornelis as the new Chairman of the Board of Directors today. François Cornelis succeeds Mrs Françoise Masai as Chairman of the Board of Directors of bpost.


François Cornelis is an independent director on the Board of Directors of bpost since 2013. He holds a masters degree in civil engineering from the University of Leuven. Between 1974 and 2011 François Cornelis held various positions at Petrofina, including as CEO, and afterwards at the Total Group as President Chemicals and Vice-chairman of the Executive Committee.


François Cornelis takes up his position as Chairman of the Board of Directors on 10 May 2017.


Koen Van Gerven, CEO of bpost said: "It is with pleasure that I see François Cornelis take office as Chairman of our Board of Directors today. François has already made an important contribution to our growth strategy as an independent director in recent years, so I am looking forward to continuing to work with him on the future of the company."



The full composition of the Board of Directors and the Committees of the Board of Directors is available online:



For more information:


Baudouin de Hepcée (journalists and investors): + 32 (0)476 49 69 58

Barbara Van Speybroeck (journalists only): +32 (0)476 51 79 29


Saskia Dheedene (investors only): +32 (0)2 276 76 43
















Composition of bpost Board Committees


Board of Directors

Chairman of the Board of Directors:         Mr. François Cornelis


Audit Committee *

Chair:                                                  Mr. Ray Stewart


                                                           Mrs. Caroline Ven

Mrs. Bernadette Lambrechts

Mr. Mike Stone

Mrs. Saskia Van Uffelen


Strategic Committee

Chair:                                                  Mr. Koen Van Gerven


Mr. Jos Donvil

Mr. Luc Lallemand

Mr. Laurent Levaux

Mr. Thomas Hübner

Mr. Mike Stone


Remuneration and Nominations Committee

Chair:                                                  Mr. François Cornelis


Mrs. Philly Teixeira

Mrs. Saskia Van Uffelen

Mr. Laurent Levaux

Mr. Thomas Hübner


*Chair will be confirmed at the next meeting of the Audit Committee


About bpost

About bpost group 

bpost is Belgium’s leading postal operator and a growing parcel & omni-commerce logistics partner in Europe, North-America and Asia. Our 36,000 employees in Belgium and across the globe connect consumers, businesses and government, by delivering mail and parcels to millions of doorsteps and providing e-commerce logistics services. As a people- and planet-friendly company we create long-term sustainable value for our customers and shareholders. In 2020 bpost generated a turnover of EUR 4,154.6 million.

Are you a customer and do you have question of a complaint? 
Click here to contact us.

Centre Monnaie, 1000 Brussels